This topic covers technical information on the ClayStation for Outlook add-in in order to aid administrative and troubleshooting tasks.
ClayStation for Outlook runs just like any other Outlook add-in: It runs inside Outlook, it is started and stopped by Outlook, and it runs by receiving events from Outlook (see Outlook Integration Overview).
This means that:
The ClayStation add-in DLL file (installed by default in C:\Program Files\Digital-Clay\ClayOutlook\ must be registered in the Windows registry and enabled in Outlook in order for it to work. The Digital-Clay installation does this for you automatically.
An Outlook add-in can only be registered for the current Windows user. This means that the installation must be run for each Windows user on the same machine.
Registering a DLL necessitates administration rights. For this purpose, the installation runs as the administrator on machines with Vista or later and it therefore asks for permission before it runs.
Alternatively, the DLL file may be manually registered for the current user using \Windows\System32\regsvr32.exe (double-click the DLL and choose to run it using this program). You will need administrative rights for this to work.
If the ClayStation toolbar does not appear in the user's Outlook, see ClayStation for Outlook Doesn't Load.
To disable the add-in temporarily, you can remove/add it from inside Outlook via Outlook Tools/Options/Other/Advanced/Com Add-Ins.
ClayStation for Outlook can work either in online mode by connecting to a shared ClayCentral, or offline with a local MDB database.
By default, ClayStation starts in offline mode until the user connects to ClayCentral using the ClayStation toolbar. This behaviour can be changed in Tools/Options.
When working offline, all changes to items are synchronized with the offline database, and then synchronized with ClayCentral next time the user connects.
For more information on working offline and its limitations, see Offline Usage. For details on the files used when working offline, see Digital-Clay Files.
ClayStation for Outlook is updated just like other Digital-Clay clients. When it connects to an updated ClayCentral, it asks the user whether to run an update. The new files are downloaded and Outlook is automatically restarted.
While auto-updates are running, Outlook must be closed until the update is complete. Outlook is also closed when other Digital-Clay clients (or ClayCentral) are updating, because of locked shared files.
Note that there are two separate updates, one for all other Digital-Clay clients, and the other for ClayStation for Outlook. I.e. each must be updated separately.