To register for the forums, please contact your Digital-Clay representative.

Reloging in after an import preview

Community-oriented help and tech-support for the Digital-Clay platform.
Post Reply
yonadav
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 2:29 pm

Reloging in after an import preview

Post by yonadav »

V. 8.77


In Clay Integrator.
After I operate a preview of an import, I am disconected from the database. But now, before I do the actual import (for synchronizing again) I want to log back in to the central. but, unfortunatly, the Taskbar Icon only have the "Options" menu and does not allow to reconect.
So I find myself shut the integrator down and open it again just to be connected again (for synchronizing and other things).

I think thins is a bug!
I want to always be able to connect through the taskbar Integrator icon, even after a preview.

Thanks.
ZevToledano
Posts: 722
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Reloging in after an import preview

Post by ZevToledano »

This is by design because once you perform a preview, you are actually now working with a temporary copy of a database. To reconnect to ClayCentral would mean either losing the preview, or committing the import and synchronizing the data. Therefore, at this stage, you have to choose whether to Import or to Cancel. There is no choice to just 'Connect'.
yonadav
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Reloging in after an import preview

Post by yonadav »

It's a little bit tiring to close the integrator and start loading the import file and everything from the begining. Why can't I just reconect and lose the preview instead of all of that?
ZevToledano
Posts: 722
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Reloging in after an import preview

Post by ZevToledano »

As explained, after you run a preview, you are running in a special state where you must either cancel the import or synchronize it. To automatically cancel an import in the background just because you choose to connect without understanding the consequences would be wrong and could cause much confusion. Imagine a user spends 2 hours running the import, then clicks on connect and loses this without even knowing it.

Plus it only takes 5 seconds to restart Integrator and load a session. Plus you should be synchronized properly before the preview even starts - this is the case in the vast majority of scenarios.
Post Reply