Table of Contents

Profile Management

Note that this page is only relevant for versions 9.1.x and below. For Profile Management in 9.2.x and above, see Profile Management.

User Profile

A user profile consists of some or all of the following elements:


The Toolbar and Homepage files are generated automatically on first login, the Settings and Layouts files are only created when something is customized. To see more information on the actual files and their locations see below.

Document Templates

Document Template files (zip, html and support files) can be deployed to users via the Profile Management tool from version 9.0 and up, or by using Role Deployment. They are NOT saved when the user clicks on 'Save My Profile'. See Sharing Deploying Templates for more deployment options.

The files are stored together with the profile files at ClayCentral, but are stored in a separate Document Template folder at the client side.

If Document Template files are found at ClayCentral when the user is retrieving a new profile, all of the template files and subfolders will be copied along with the profile files onto the client's computer.

Settings

An important note regarding settings: Not all of the settings in Tools/Options are stored by default inside the Settings file and are therefore not part of the user profile. Some settings are stored, by default, in the local Windows registry only. These include:

The reason these settings were separated is due to the primary goal of the Profile Management feature, which is to allow managers to easily push profiles, company policies and common business tools onto users without overwriting their personal preferences.

As of version 9.0, settings may be defined individually using Profile Management to instruct Digital-Clay to store them either in the profile, or in the local registry.



Profile Loading & Synchronization

For the locations of profile files on the hard drive, see Digital-Clay Files.

Clients always load and save profiles using local hard-drives for the simple reason that clients also need these files while working offline.

Note that local profile files are stored in the Windows settings folder for the current Windows user, and in a sub-folder per Digital-Clay user. This means that even if the same Windows user logs in to Clay using more than one Clay user, the profiles are maintained in separate folders.

When using Profile Management features in ClayStudio (or when a user clicks on 'Save My Profile'), profiles are stored on the ClayCentral machine and synchronized with the local user's profile next time he logs in. Profile Management may be used for any of the following purposes:



This is how it works:

























Role Deployment

In addition to the local and ClayCentral saved profiles per user, there exists a third option for deploying profiles (even for users that don't exist yet), based on their Roles. See Role Deployment for details.

Role profile and Document Template files will only be copied to the user's ClayCentral profile if the user does not already have these files. I.e. the order of priority is:

  1. ClayCentral User profile
  2. ClayCentral Role profile
  3. Local client profile



Sending a Profile

When sending a profile to users using the Profile Management tool, the complete profile may be sent, or only specific parts of it. For example, the Layouts may be centrally managed by the administrator so that everyone sees the same view, but users may be allowed to customize their Toolbars. In this case, only the Layouts are sent so as not to overwrite the user's preferences. In addition, specific toolbar items and layouts may be sent to users without overwriting their other personalized toolbar categories or table layouts. Also see above regarding Settings.

The following options are available for each Profile element (Toolbar/Layouts/Homepages/Settings):

  1. Make no changes. No files are saved or overwritten.
  2. Save and lock. This profile element is sent to ClayCentral and the user is locked from making any further changes to this profile element. See below for an explanation on Locking.
  3. Clear and unlock. The ClayCentral file for this profile element is deleted (NOT the local user's profile), and the user is unlocked, allowing him to make changes.
  4. Save single item only (Toolbar and Layouts only). This allows sending specific sub-items inside the Toolbar or Layouts without overwriting any others. Locking a user is optional in this case.

Profile Locking

A user may be locked from making any changes to any of his four Profile elements. When a user is locked, buttons for customizing that element are disabled, or, in the case of some settings (“Customize This List…”), the customizations made by the user are only temporary and not saved to his Settings file.

The locks are saved in the User record in four fields: Lock Toolbar/Lock Layouts/Lock Homepages/Lock Settings.

The idea behind locking is the fact that centrally managed profiles can easily conflict and overwrite changes made by a user to his own profile. In order to avoid such conflicts and loss of heavily customized profile data, sending/managing a profile and locking a profile need to be mutually inclusive.

In other words, as soon as you send a profile using the Profile Management tool, the user is automatically locked from making further changes so that further updates will not overwrite his data.

In a scenario of a single profile deployment with no plans to change the profile in the future, or if you wish to remove the locks manually for whatever reason without deleting the user's ClayCentral profile, the locks may be removed as follows:

  1. Go to Customize Layouts and select the User table.
  2. Add a custom fields tab and add the four Lock fields to the tab.
  3. Open the user's record and unlock his profile as necessary.
  4. Have the user re-login to ClayCentral.


Profile Files

Profiles consist of four types of files, and a profile ID:

The ProfileID file contains an identifier that is compared to the local ID when a user logs in. If any of the profile files are changed, the ID is also changed and therefore the local profile is updated.


Notes: